Mazurkas for Piano, Series B, Published Posthumously

Mazurkas for Piano, Series B, Published Posthumously

PWM Edition
Regular price
Sale price

Chopin National Edition 25B, Vol. 1

Includes the Mazurkas published posthumously: A minor (WN 14), A minor (WN 60), A minor - earlier version (WN 60), A-flat Major (WN 45), B-flat Major (WN 41), B-flat Major (WN 7), B-flat Major - earlier version (WN 7), C Major (WN 24), C Major (WN 47), F Major (WN 25), F minor (WN 65), G Major (WN 26), G Major (WN 8), G minor (WN 64). Inspired by Polish folk dance, Chopin's mazurkas gradually became compositions of meditative lyricism, and the most personal statement of expression. See also 00132281 for the 43 Mazurkas published during the composer's lifetime.

The National Edition of the Works of Fryderyk Chopin

Published by PWM

Exclusively Distributed by Hal Leonard Corporation


Jan Ekier and Pawel Kaminski

The objective of the National Edition is to present Chopin's complete output in its authentic form, based on the entire body of available sources. Sources were analyzed with up-to-date scientific and musicological methodology.

The National Edition was based on sources originated from the composer, mainly autographs, copies of autographs and first editions with the composer's corrections, and pupils' copies with Chopin's annotations. In cases when original sources were lacking, the closest possible materials were used. Collecting the source materials was a laborious task which took years of effort.

The characteristics of sources, the links and discrepancies between them as well as the reasons for particular editorial decisions are discussed in the Source Commentary in each volume.

The Performance Commentary appended to each volume includes: the realization of ornaments, comments on pedal markings (the original markings sometimes are inadequate, due to the difference in sound between pianos used in Chopin`s times and modern pianos), suggestions as to the “harmonic legato” (a performance technique often used by Chopin and now forgotten).

About the National Edition

Full Introduction to the National Edition of the Works of Fryderyk Chopin

Arrangement: Piano
Composer: Frédéric Chopin
Editor: Jan Ekier
Series: PWM
Item No: AM00132282
UPC: 884088971168
ISBN: 8392036581
EAN: 9788392036586
Dimensions: 12" x 9.25"
Shipping weight: 7.7 ounces
Pages: 56

Prices and availability subject to change without notice.